to futon or not to futon ***

So, I’ve been debating on what I’m going to do with the condo (until I’m forced to move to an apartment…story 4 another day) once JP moves out. I’m thinking of re-arranging the layout to get the most bang for my buck and the most use/room out of the unit. I also want something functional that I can take with me to another apartment when the time comes. The biggest thing I’m debating is turning the “bedroom” into the living room. Mainly because its bigger than whats supposed to be considered my living space and there are accessible windows that I could throw open and welcome in the fall air when it comes around. In conjunction with the new living room, I’ll have to buy a tv stand for my flat screen and also a couch because JP has custody of those items. I’m not sure if I want to go the way of a gently used couch from a thrift store (which I would steam clean until I’m all steamed out and then throw a slip cover over) or if I should get a futon so that it can pull out easily into an extra bed.

I’m in love with the new Ikea catalog and have spotted this beauty in this year’s mag. It’s listed on the website at $299 but in the catalog its a mere $199 which I think is a great deal. For $30 more you can get the underthebed storage box to store all the bedding, pillows, etc. for your guests. I think the Ektorp sofa bed is my favorite. But at $749 a pop, thats just too unrealistic for my needs right now. Any thoughts on futons and how to turn a dorm room must into an updated, sophisticated piece for a low budget living room?

Tell me somethin' good ...

