Sew What.

I’ve been itching to sew things. The best part is that I have an inkling of sewing ability and absolutely no ability to build projects or sew fabric together, etc. What makes me want to sew? Maybe the freedom of creating my own window treatments/draperies, or a cute pillow like this one from Jen at The House of Wood. Things like creating my own trendy messenger bag like this one from Alida at I Make Stuff, where the instructions are all laid out and seemingly simple. The problem is they seem easy enough, for people that know how to sew! I’ve been thinking about taking a sewing class at Joann Fabrics or some other fabric store but have been hesitant to do so. I’ve been hesitant to put myself out there and meet new people for awhile. Apparently, although I have all of these great plans and ideas, I’m terrified to put them forward and really try. I don’t think its the failure of not doing something well, I think its really just the try and the frustration that would come if I discovered I really wasn’t that crafty.

Maybe I’ll be able to bite the bullet soon and invest in a sewing machine/craft station, etc. and try my hand at some neat projects. We’ll see…

6 thoughts on “Sew What.

  1. Hi Ashley,

    I “borrowed” my progress bars from another blog. What you can do is go to my blog and highlight one of my bars (title too), then right click and choose “View Selection Source” this will give you the HTML code. Copy this code and paste it where you want it on your blog and modify it to fit your blog. If you read the code you will know what you have to change.

    I hope that helps.

    Allie
    http://alliestartsover.blogspot.com

  2. I feel your pain!
    I have no idea how to sew & would love to learn..I see all these great pillows,curtains,table runners out there and people bragging about their sewing ability..lol
    Uggh! I wish I knew someone that could teach me!!!

    • Hey Jen,

      I read on another blog that there are tons of videos on Youtube.com that you can pretty much self-teach yourself. I’m lucky and am getting a sewing machine soon from my mom, and she said that to either take a class at the local fabric store or to go easy and self teach. But I’m with you!

      -ashley

  3. I do NOT know how to sew…but I do it anyway, thanks to the machine my bf gave me last Christmas. . I’m getting better as I go, and all it takes is practice and Google! 🙂 Go for it! It’s so freeing to be able to make my own curtains, refashion clothes, etc. I may not do a great job, but it’s not too shabby either.

    • i really cant wait to start to learn! ill be getting my moms sewing machine really soon. thx for the advice and score on the money saving with being able to do your own curtains, etc! awesome!
      -ashley

Tell me somethin' good ...

