Book Review: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

As part of my 28 Before 28, I’ve made a promise to myself to read at least 1 book a month for 1 year. The interesting thing about this goal is that its continuous throughout the entire year and isn’t something that I can just cross off with 1 accomplishment. Because I started this adventure in August and my birthday is in May, I’m expecting (and hoping) to make it through 9 books in 9 months. I’m well on my way since I just crossed off my 3rd read last night.

My latest read was “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo” that I decided to tackle because JP bought it expecting some great novel and was really disappointed throughout the book. She said she couldn’t get into it and that it was hard to understand/get through until about half-way through the book. So I took that as a challenge and wanted to see if I would feel the same way.

This book was about Mikael Blomkvist, a journalist that just suffered a huge career blow via being found guilty for libel against a man named Wennerstrom, and a young woman named Lisbeth Salander, a solitary rebel, that’s been found incompetent to run her own life/finances by the Swedish government. They meet over a case/project that Blomkvist has been assigned to which is to write a family history of the Vanger family, a very influential and well to-do family because they’re senior leader is aging. Blomkvist is also assigned the task of trying to figure out what happened to a young Vanger family member named Harriet that disappeared from a family event on the day of a horrible car crash to which she was not involved in. Salander is a hacker and can easily track lots of information via computers and her skills are essential to Blomkvist’s success throughout the novel.

I don’t typically read mystery suspense novels because I like the more romantic love stories (ie. The Notebook) or sweeping family drama. I started out with “TGWTDT” a bit apprehensive because I knew that JP liked this type of book and she hated it so I honestly thought that I too, would not like this book. On the contrary, I did like it and it held my attention all the way through. It is hard to get through all the Swedish jargon and monetary values that are used but if you can oversee that, I think that you can get through the book quite easily. I feel like the characters were very well developed and you got to see inside some of their darkest secrets, or thoughts, to be able to empathize with them in various situations. I think this is how Larsson was able to allow the reader to sympathize with Salander although she was a very dark character.

I admit that I was shocked at the ending and how they got there. Never thought that was going to happen (and don’t worry, I won’t ruin it for you!). But I felt after the climax of finding out what happened to Harriet, that the book was a bit sluggish through the last 15 pages as Blomkvist attempted to go after Wennerstrom one last time. Have you read this book? If so, what are your thoughts?

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Girl Who Played With Fire « sunny side shlee

  2. Pingback: Movie Review: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo |

Tell me somethin' good ...

