One Goal: Achieved.

Last Wednesday, I was able to meet Chicago Blackhawks player Patrick Sharp via a work promo event. I was ecstatic. Occasionally, my work brings celebrities to the Walgreens HQ to meet and greet with employees. My dad and I are huge Blackhawk fans (which I talked about here) and were thrilled when the boys brought home the Stanley Cup last season. Now, it seems that Chicago has had a resurgence in its love for ice hockey and has brought the “forgotten team” right back into the spotlight. After the big win of the 2010 season, the Blackhawks had to meet its salary cap and cut loose some of its best players that were worth “too much money”. Gone is our goalie Antti Niemi, and our “big guy” Dustin Byfuglien. Along with many others. Luckily, the team has been able to hang onto some of our bigger name players such as captain Jonathan Toews, shooter Patrick Kane (my favorite), and resident sexy-man Patrick Sharp.

Hawks warm up!

On Wednesday, December 1st, my work brought Patrick Sharp to our corporate headquarters for a promo event where employees could do a meet and greet with the Hawks top player. I went by myself because I was in a meeting until about 4 p.m. and when I got to the building, there was already a line of about 100 people all eagerly waiting for a glimpse at him. It was exciting and as I started getting closer, I felt my heart begin to pound. When it was my turn, I tried to be Miss Cool, ya know, so he didn’t think I was a total nerd. But I’m pretty sure I blew that. I asked him to sign a slip of paper that I’m framing and giving to my dad as a Christmas gift. He was so polite, and sweet and I was really amazed at that. Maybe because he’s Canadian? Either way, here’s a snap of my meeting with him. (notice his arm on my waist?! ::wink::)

Me and Patrick Sharp!

Next up? Special Bears player at the end of December! Have a great Monday!

2 thoughts on “One Goal: Achieved.

  1. Pingback: B’hawk game « sunny side shlee

  2. Pingback: 2010 Re-Cap « sunny side shlee

Tell me somethin' good ...

