Book Review: Undressing the Moon

Yes, yes another dang book review. I know. My writing capabilities are slacking lately. I’m so bogged down with work and recently just traveled for a 24 hr trip to Orlando! It stinks because I literally have no time to blog and no time to work out. So, I feel chubby and ultra stressed. Not good. But I have been reading a lot lately, mostly before bed and then on the plane to Orlando. I recently finished Undressing the Moon by t. greenwood which reminded me a lot like The Lovely Bones. The premise wasn’t necessarily the same, but I kept imagining the main character Piper Kincaid as the girl in The Lovely Bones and her trip through the meadow where she met her demise. Maybe it was the cover art of the book that helped with that imagery…

The novel focused around Piper and her life immersed in a severly dysfunctional family where her mother abandons their life, and her father is trapped in insecure emotional whirlwind and leaves 14 year old Piper and her older brother Quinn to survive on their own. Switching back and forth from present day to flashbacks of Piper’s childhood, the reader learns that Piper is battling cancer at the age of 26 and it is severly agressive. You learn about her sad childhood and what made her into the woman she is today, as well as how she is coping with her disease at such a young age. It was a little hard to get into at first, but I thought it was eventually thoroughly interesting and very surprising at some parts. Its a good read if you’re into something to curl up with.

Tell me somethin' good ...

