Project 25: The Break

Sometimes your body needs it. Sometimes your mind needs it. Whatever it is, exercise over here at Project 25 isn’t all butterflies and rainbows.

source: weheartit.com

 

My body has been running ragged. And I listened to it and gave it 6 days off. Six days!! Unheard of. But it happened. When I woke up and felt like I wanted to do nothing more than sleep and then start my day, I did it. I honored myself and let it relaxed after 6 weeks of training hard. Yes, it may not have been the perfect decision but it worked for me. Listen to your body. If it needs a break and your muscles are tight … take care of yourself. No sense in getting injured when you could have easily taken 2-3 days off to re-coup. Then, bounce back stronger than ever. Monday was my last day of week 5 in my Couch 2 10K program before I jump into week 6 full of three minute runs and down to 2 minute walks. I need to prove it to myself that I can make it and the last thing I need is my body breaking down, refusing to go on.

2 thoughts on “Project 25: The Break

  1. Nothing wrong with giving it a little break. Definitely necessary after pushing it to the limits. I’m proud of you for listening to your body and following it. Bravo!

Tell me somethin' good ...

