So You Want to Be A Blogger …

That title reminds me of “So You Think You Can Dance” (my favorite is Kathryn, of course!) … but I’m really writing this blog because I’m frustrated and I’m motivating myself. Sometimes I get so intimidated by the other bloggers out there. Man, some of these ladies really seem to have their writing/activities/act together and it makes me green with envy to not have the type of blog that they do. But, we’re all different and I don’t have to be them to be a blogger. I just need to stay true to myself and write for me. Anyways, I have found out what makes the best/most interesting blogs out there. They all kinda have the same great elements that draw readers in. Here are some of the things I’ve noticed:

  • Tone. Most blogs out there (at least the ones I read on fashion, DIY, etc) are upbeat.  I think bloggers/readers are interested in joining a community of people. That’s why we write and we engage in conversation with people we may never see in person in our lives.  In any situation (real or non-real) people are attracted in the more upbeat, charismatic. Smiles draw attention and you SHOULD naturally gravitate towards someone with great vibes. I think that goes hand-in-hand with blogging. Having an interesting, engaging, and upbeat voice will draw people on. Not saying that you can’t be true to your life and talk about serious stuff but if I wanted to read about doom and gloom, I’d stick to my own diary jk!
  • Pictures. Gosh we are a nosey race. But it’s great. Great bloggers share their lives and their personal experiences. It makes them more relatable. It builds their brand and engages the reader.  Sharing real pictures of your real life is good stuff people.  That being said, I noticed that more seasoned bloggers are also photographers, although some of them will never admit nor classify  themselves as so.  They have decent cameras and they play with the lighting and lenses on said cameras. They don’t slap up a half-ass pic on their blog and call it a day, no they try to give the reader the best image possible.  I use my iPhone which is supposed to have an 8 megapixel camera. I think it lies … or I suck at lighting and editing. Whatevs!
  • Design. Not all great blogs look amazing. But, some of the really good ones work on building their brand and investing in their “product” by either learning HTML and designing their own really cool blog or they employ a talented graphic designer to help. No shame in that game. But just like the a beauty pageant, when you’re gonna have an audience, you gotta dress up! Having a great “space” in the blogosphere really helps you build a brand, an identity online and can sometimes help in establishing yourself as a knowledgeable and experienced blogger.  My design can use a bit of work but for using a free blogger site, it is what it is. I’ve learned a bit of HTML to help me be able to change color schemes and to really make my blog look the way I want it to look. Maybe if I get a bit more serious, I’ll have a professional design but for now I think it works for me.
  • Style.  I have a not-so-secret obsession with fashion blogs. But not the unrealistic, model/runway fashion blogs but the every day, professional (and not-so-professional) fashion bloggers. One of my most consistent wishes is to dress better and dress for my age. The best fashion bloggers (in my opinion) are relatable, they have a great sense of mixing and matching outfits and are not afraid to mix patterns. I love admiring these ladies fashion sense and stealing little ideas here and there as I take baby steps in my own life in terms of the clothes I wear. I think you have to have a good eye for what works and what doesn’t. And the best fashion bloggers usually have that nailed. They have a passion for clothes whether they’re designer brands or thrifted at a local thrift store, these ladies know how to incorporate the goods to make a great looking outfit. I’m not there yet, nor have I a great sense of style. For now, I’ll just admire from afar.
  • Projects. Every good blogger has projects! Ok, that’s not true. There are many relevant, well-versed bloggers that just talk about their lives and opinions and are completely rock-star worthy because  they don’t need projects to fuel their brand. But, we’re not talking about them. We are talking about the DIY-ers, the fashionistas, the aspiring interior designers, the chefs, etc. We are talking about the bloggers that share their passion in life and give step-by-step know-how to do those projects to their readers! (i love these bloggers) These bloggers want to share their knowledge and give their readers some good tips on great (and not-so-great) things they have accomplished. They want to be a part of a virtual community (hence the sharing aspect) and they want to be inspired too. These great bloggers are what drive a specific genre of blogging. They are the ones that are consistently inspiring and being inspired by their community.

Anyways. My point … well, I’m not really sure there is a point. I’m not really an expert. There! I’ve said it. But I have been reading and participating (actively, mind you) in the blogging community for the past year and a half. For the blogs that I read, I’ve just noticed a common trend amongst the most popular blogs, the ones that I am glued to daily for updates and more ideas, projects, information, etc. Maybe this will help you in your blog, maybe not. Hopefully, it was at least an entertaining read 🙂

 

Oh, and if you made it this far … YAY! Here’s a link to some more (maybe better) advice from Blair at Wild and Precious.

source: weheartit.com

2 thoughts on “So You Want to Be A Blogger …

Tell me somethin' good ...

