2012 Year in Review

2012 seemed to fly right on by and I feel like we were constantly on-the-go – which is great because that means that life wasn’t passing us by 🙂  With 2013 on our heels, I figured this would be a great time to re-cap all the things that happened this past year! Fun! Hold on!

January saw some work on Project 25 (which was quickly left in the dust after some injuries and pure laziness), JP and I hit up The Sound of Music which was playing at the Drury Theatre, and a book review of Catching Fire – loooove The Hunger Games series.

February I started working on my goal of completing a HR certification program and was nominated for the Kreativ Blogger/Versatile Blogger award by BookBimbo.

March we welcomed JP’s sister for an extended stay in Chicago and hit up the Blue Man Group (ultra fun), had my first go at fondue (helllo cheesy goodness!) and ate at one of my favorite tapas restaurants, Cafe Ba-Ba-Reeba – anyone else sensing a food theme this month?

April usually brings rain showers, but we finally got to see The Hunger Games movie in theatres (totes can wait for Catching Fire this November!),  JP with her sister and I hit up a week long trip to Hollywood/San Diego (Ugh, I miss it so much), I joined a Run Club at work, and we saw an adorably surprising Mirror Mirror movie starring Ms. Julia Roberts at the evil queen/step mother.

May, also known as my birthday month, we walked at the National Ovarian Cancer Coalition 5K with friends, I passed my certification exam for the HRCI’s PHR exam, and spent a few days in Kansas City having lots of fun and lots of eats with co-workers!

June is Pride month, so we hit up Chicago’s annual Pride parade, and also enjoyed some awesome cupcakes from a place called Molly’s in Chicago.

July I must have been busy because I featured an entire week dedicated to Pinterest – haha!

In August I moved from the city into the ‘burbs with JP full-time, and reviewed some grief associated with buying a car after foreclosure and bankruptcy, discovered the amazing Wildberry restaurant in Schaumburg, had fun with some buds at Chicago Market Days, and began my obsession with Netflix.

September JP and I started seriously planning our wedding (yikes!), work started picking up big time so I didn’t have much time to blog about my activities. But I did do stuff – like chow down at the amazing Greek Feast restaurant in the northern ‘burbs, take JP kayaking down the Chicago river for her birthday, and read a life-changing autobiography, A Chance in the World.

In October I was in the office for a total of 4 days as my work traveled picked waaaay up.  I did have a guest blog over at Plucky’s Second Thought, had one hell of a Bachelorette Party celebration for one of my good friends, and then were able to attend the beautiful wedding in Saugatuck, MI (totes wanna go back!).

November I traveled to Tucson for a work trip and had some amazing non-traditional Mexican food at Cafe Poca Cosa, JP and I had our engagement photo session which was sooo much fun, had some tasty beers at FatPour,  shared two tasty recipes (Pumpkin Spice Puppy Chow and Lazy Woman’s Beef Stew), and also was able to see the last of the Twilight series – Breaking Dawn Part 2.

And lastly, this December’s re-cap with a recipe for Creamy Lemon Bars and a Holiday Re-Cap of our tri-state adventures.

Yikes! I can’t wait til 2013! It’s going to be a big, big year for us and I’m so excited to start that journey! How was your 2012?

Tell me somethin' good ...

