Resolutions

Every year most of us set New Years resolutions to usher out the previous year and start fresh. With January 1st comes a blank slate and a whole 365 days ahead to make what you want of them – it’s kind of a an awesome thing if you think about it. A chance to just start new, and who doesn’t like new things?

I try to take a look at where I came from and what 2012 brought me. I had a ton of stuff going on and the year just seemed to fly right on by. I was able to scratch some of my big rocks in terms of professional development from my list – Completing an HR professional class online and passing the HRCI/PHR certification exam.  I also read over my goal of 12 books for the year and came across a few amazing reads.

2013 is going to be a HUGE year for me and I’m so excited to experience everything that life will throw my way.  Not only are “2” and “13” my favorite numbers  (a great omen if I do say so myself), but I also turn 30 this year and get hitched. But I have some other goals that I’d love to get accomplished in this big year and really work on bettering myself. Here’s what I got:

  • Lose 30 lbs. by wedding (July 6, 2013)
  • Go on a relaxing vacation
  • Read at least 10 books
  • Look better, feel better (ie. dress better, do hair!)
  • Make a home out of our apartment
  • Complete SHRM membership
  • Complete AIRS training

So really its just to be a healthier person and I would be hard-pressed to deny that it’s about the weight and it is – it’s a main driver of this year. I’ve put on 40 lbs since my big weight loss 4 years ago and I want to get back there. I want to feel better about myself and be happier and I’m not expecting a big dramatic shift to where I was but even if I dropped 20 lbs and felt great – that would be enough for me (for the time being).

I also think that part of feeling better about yourself is taking care of yourself.  I’ll be the first person to admit that I roll out of bed, take a shower, and get dressed and go to work with wet hair. I never wear make-up (unless I’m at a career fair that day), and wear basic work clothes (black pants, top and cardigan), and I never do my hair (wet ponytail it is – even in the winter!).  It’s not that I want to become a MAC professional or even splurge on expensive clothes but I do (and should) want to start feeling better about myself and maybe a start is with some quick mascara in the morning, adding a cute belt to my outfit, or even washing my hair the night before.  I resolve to get better at this in 2013!

JP and I are moving at the end of this week – to a first floor, 2 bedroom apartment in our same building where we plan to stay for the next few years before we buy a forever home.  So I really want to make sure that we start building a home wherever we live because it’s less about the physical address and more about the people you share your home with…and we deserve a grown-up place.

And lastly I want to continue with my professional development and complete the last two things on my career-related list. They’re easy peasy things (SHRM membership can be done online) but with the wedding coming up, they are a costly expense so I need to make sure that we can budget for them and actually make it happen.

What are your goals or resolutions for the new year? Do you want to improve on your health? Be a better person? Take an amazing trip? I’d love to hear about it!

Tell me somethin' good ...

