Ultimate Loser: Week 9

Between food posts and work out posts, I probably have you really confused and wanting to slap me. That’s ok – that’s half the battle in life anyways – the struggle to want super delicious food and to be lean and fit.  I know that’s always been a problem for me, growing up in a household raised by a woman who showered you with food and love and it always worked out because I was soooo active as a kid. But now as I’m approaching 30 this year, I can feel myself start to slow down. I can sense a small shift in my metabolism. I can tell when I get tired (even though I’m out of shape) quicker. And that has me worried.

I’ve steadily lost weight now for the past 8 weeks and that’s been great! Even on my worst days (and weekends) I’m seeing at least a 0.4 lbs weight loss.  I have been really worried the past few weeks because I’ve been mainly just running to lose weight. I haven’t been adding weight training, I haven’t been taking extra classes, I haven’t really been eating the BEST I can. Which if you can tell from all of those statements, means I haven’t really learned a long-term weight loss plan/life-style change that’s sustainable. This past weekend, I ate a lot. A lot more than I did in LA and Ohio. I had a big breakfast, paired with a lunch at Stir Crazy and even had more food on Sunday. With only playing 1 game of volleyball and doing a 45 minute run on Friday, that really wasn’t going to counter-act the food consumption I took in.

Weighing in today was a little bittersweet. I gained 1.8 pounds over the week, which means I was absolutely correct in knowing that I need to go back to moderation and need to start CONSISTENTLY putting in workouts. I was immediately fine right after weighing in, finding myself shrugging and saying, “I knew it was going to be like this – I ate bad this past weekend.” A few minutes later it hit me that I’m going in the exact opposite direction that I wanted to on the weight loss journey and with only 10 weeks until my 30th birthday and 15 weeks until my wedding – I have some time but also am starting to feel the time crunch a little to make it to my goal of at least down to 180 by the wedding. With 15 weeks to go – that means a little over 1.5 lbs per week. I’m upset about the weight-gain but I know that I CAN do this!

A little dive into my workouts – I ran on Friday but was feeling some pain in my right hip so cut my 58 minute run/walk short to about 42 minutes. I have been struggling in Week 5 of the couch to 10K program. I can’t make it through the full 2.5 minute runs, or I start to hurt in my legs … and it’s just getting tougher. I want to be able to breeze through this before Week 6’s 73 minute run/walk with 3 minute runs – this is my dragon to slay.

This week’s work out is for your booty – so get to it!

One thought on “Ultimate Loser: Week 9

  1. Pingback: TGIF |

Tell me somethin' good ...

