Wedding Love: The Ring

Something that I’ve struggled a little bit with over the past few months is wanting a non-traditional ring. I do not have an engagement ring – we do not have a great proposal story (we really were just assessing our life/relationship and decided together that we want to move forward and build a family together and basically spend all of eternity together).  Without an engagement ring, I  want a little bling on my finger and do not want a plain band. A girl deserves a little sparkle, right?

Where I struggle is when you see a wedding band on a woman, your first realization that this woman is taken is by seeing the rock on her finger and a band right next to it. That’s the natural way most women stand out from your run-of-the-mill left ring-finger-wearing ring versus “The Band”.

Traditional rings – source

And I realize that “the ring” is my ring and I shouldn’t be worried about what other people think – but I know I’ll be proud of my marriage and want to indicate to the world “I’M TAKEN!” Ha! When looking for rings, I spotted an AMAZING infinity/twisted band that I immediately fell in love with on Pinterest. I wasn’t able to track down the original source of the band (believe my I tried) but knew that a twisted back was what I really wanted. It has a tiny bit of bling and a bunch of uniqueness that I adore.

But because I wasn’t able to track down that beauty from above, JP and I headed to the mall to find an alternative that works. Unfortunately, finding even an infinity band is very hard! There are limited choices available, so if you’re a girl looking for something a little bit different, I’d recommend looking for unique websites like Blue Nile or even Etsy to help with your search – don’t go to the mall!

Lucky for me, I was able to find something that I really liked and was right in our price range, which I was excited about. It’s no dream band like above, but it’s definitely something that I really like and that’ll have deep meaning once it’s a part of my big day which I’m super excited about! The ring I chose is a bit of a loop band with small diamonds around the loop. It kind of looks like this sweet ring below:

source: unknown

How did you pick out the ring for your big day? Any tips or things to keep in mind when searching for your wedding band?

Tell me somethin' good ...

