Wedding Week: Our Wedding Tunes

One of the things that I feel set every wedding I’ve ever been to is the music. It’s a reminder of the couple and their personality, it’s a background to the emotions that are stirring during the day, and it’s a reflection of the couple’s future together. JP and picked our music semi-together. Usually one of us heard a great tune and convinced the other that it would be perfect for some aspect of our big day. We pretty much agreed on every selection and didn’t really change our minds once a decision was made – which freed up time for other big decisions. Here’s what our day sounded like:

Bridesmaid Processional: Phillip Phillips – “Home”

It’s a great “marching” tune and easy for the wedding party to time their walk to. Plus, it has a great message. “Just know you’re not alone, cuz I’m gonna make this place your home.”

Bride Processional: Sleeping at Last – “Turning Page”

We debated to have the version with or without words for awhile and finally settled on the version with words. We thought it was more heartfelt and the message was really sweet. About waiting for that one true love. JP walked out to this with her parents and I followed with my dad. We did hear that the song brought a few people to tears, and I know I definitely ugly-cried half-way down the aisle.

Recessional: Matt Nathanson – “Faster”

We wanted a Kelly Clarkson song because JP is a HUGE Kel-Kel fan. But all of her music is angst-ridden – so nothing appropriate for the joyfulness of a wedding. But JP is also a huge Matt Nathanson fan and I loved his song “Faster,” so it was a perfect happy choice after we said our official “I Dos”.

Parents/Bridesmaid Introductions: Pitbull – “Don’t Stop the Party”

We wanted something super upbeat and to really emit those “party feelings.” Even though I’m not a huge Pitbull fan, you can’t help but tap your foot to this tune. Our parents totally boogied when introduced, so I think this was a great choice to get the smiles rolling!

Grand Entrance/Cake Cutting: Hall and Oates – “You Make My Dreams Come True”

We have a secret love for H & O and wanted something classic and fun. I also love all things 80s – but this was a song we struggled with for a while and then finally settled on this sweet little song. It was great though and played through our introduction and then we immediately cut our cake. Plus, everyone knows this song, right?

Father/Daughter Dance: Paul Simon – “Father/Daughter”

I’m a daddy’s girl and was raised by my father so picking something meaningful was really important to me. You wouldn’t imagine how many inappropriate father/daughter dance suggestions there are out there. Seriously. We’d listen to lyrics and be like … “Noooooo!” immediately. But this is such an easy-dance and good song.

First Dance: Hunter Hayes – “Wanted”

When we first heard this song on the radio, we loved it. I thought at first that it was Rascal Flatts and kinda worried because we both do not really like country music. But when I sent it to JP to listen to the words, she told me she loved it and thought it was perfect to describe our relationship.

Tell me somethin' good ...

