Blogtember, Day 11: A Public Love Letter



Today’s Topic: Write a public love letter to someone in your life. (It doesn’t necessarily need to be romantic.)

Since JP and I were recently hitched, I had that opportunity to tell her (and all of our close family and friends) how much I love and adore her. So, my public love letter today won’t be on the romantic side but will hedge the family love that I have for my father. My dad is pretty darn epic. Anyone who knows me, knows that he’s one of my favorite people on the planet.

my dad and i on my 1st bday

my dad and i on my 1st bday

My parents were high school sweethearts and married and divorced shortly after high school was said and done. My mom dove headfirst into a career and didn’t really have time to spend on me when I was little. So, when I was four, I moved in with my dad and grandparents (he was living with them trying to get on his feet after the divorce) because it was a more stable environment. My grandmother was a homemaker and was with me all of the time. My grandpa worked for the City of Chicago as a garbage man and was home in the early evenings for family dinner – just in time for my dad to wake up for his midnight job as a security guard. I remember those family dinners like they were yesterday. But I was always surrounded by love and family and can never thank my dad enough for the sacrifices he’s made for me over the years to get me to where I’m at today. He’s the reason I am the person I am today. He’s the reason for all of my successes in life. So, this letter is for him.

Dear Dad,

Words cannot express how much I love you and how much I appreciate every little thing you have done for me throughout my 30 years of life. Always placing me first, I commend you on your drive to provide, your outlook on life, your discipline (when needed), your kindness and gentle heart, and most of all I honor the steps you’ve taken to provide the best life that you could for me.

Thinking about where I’m at at the age of 30 to what you had on your plate to balance, I cannot imagine how difficult things could have been for you. At the age of 30, you had a loud-mouth 7 year old who could (admittingly) be a handful at times. But you got her involved in extra curricular activities like sports and day camp to wear out her energy, you provided discipline and boundaries when she got a little out of control, and most of all you provided life lessons sprinkled with a bit of humor of things that she would keep with her forever.

You’ve been a mother and a father all wrapped into one, and I honestly do not know where I would be in life had I not been raised by you. I actually have worried about this before and have counted my lucky stars that you loved me enough, cared about my well-being enough, to fight for me when going through a rough custody battle. You didn’t win in court, but in the end – I was able to live where I was meant to be the entire time. Thank you for every thing. I love you more than you’ll ever know, and I want you to know just how special you are to me and how I’ll always strive to be even half of as great of a parent as you were to me.

love always,

ashley

me and my pops!

me and my pops!

4 thoughts on “Blogtember, Day 11: A Public Love Letter

Tell me somethin' good ...

